My Fifteen Minutes of Freshly Pressed Fame

So, as you probably know, I was featured on Freshly Pressed today, and I’ve pretty much been on cloud nine all day. I honestly never thought it would happen to me. Each day, as I signed in to blog, I gleaned wistfully through the day’s elite Freshly Pressed…-ers? (I don’t know what else to call them!) “These are the beautiful people,” I thought. “If I could ever reach that level, my life at the moment would be complete.”

Note the awesome Paint skills

I guess just this weekend, I’d expressed that thought to Chris while struggling to come up with something to write. In fact, last night he made a comment to me about making a few guest appearances in my texting post. I blushed a little, remembering that I’d exposed our little text arguments to the public. I never would have guessed it’d be the Freshly Pressed public. (P.S. Chris and I were talking over ice cream in celebration today and I’d like to announce that in no way do we have aย dysfunctional Amber and Gary relationship. Just to clarify, since I only included argument texts in my post. Nice or mushy texts didn’t pertain to the subject. Plus, who wants to read that? Puke.)

Honestly, today had all the makings of being a crappy day. I turned on the water for a shower so it could heat up while I was brushing my teeth, only to find that I’d left my shower head at the perfect angle to spew out the back of the shower curtain and flood the entire bathroom with half an inch of water. I left for work (late, of course) to find my road had been blocked off due to road construction, so I had to take 37 detours behind a driver who refused to go above 15 miles per hour. (Rush hour traffic in Grand Forks, ND — I tell ya.)

This is usually our traffic. Minus the snow in July, at least -- We only have that nine months out of the year.

Things were okay once I got to work at my on-campus job. I’m basically an office assistant and a go-fer, so my job isn’t thatย difficult. But I did have to make a delivery to a really unpleasant location on campus. It’s not far from my place of work, but I have to do some “off-roading” to get there, and I can’t take my car.

On my way, I checked my phone to make the crappy walk go faster. I found that I had a surprising number of e-mails. I went to my Gmail app to find that the entire visible list was full of e-mails requesting moderation for comments on my blog. “Oh crap,” I thought. “Something bad happened. I have a ton of spammers. What wrong hands did my blog get into?”

Ahhhhh!

So, my attempt to make the walk better only made it more agonizing, since I couldn’t wait to park my butt in front of the computer and figure out what the heck was going on with my blog. I didn’t think there was any way I could have that much legit traffic. I’ll admit — The idea of being Freshly Pressed came to my mind once, and I made myself stop thinking about it because I knew I’d only disappoint myself.

As soon as I got back to my desk, I rushed through the excruciatingly slow process of logging back in to my computer. (I thought a fingerprint reader would be a cool security feature when coming to college — I now find it an unnecessary nuisance. Shoulda picked the webcam option.)

As soon as I saw my blog in a Freshly Pressed square, I seriously, like, simultaneously peed my pants, had a mini ecstatic freak out, and had an out-of-body experience. Greatest. Day. Ever.

So happy like this kitty.

But as the day went on, I started to wonder howย people get picked to be Freshly Pressed. I thought it was all based on views and, while I love my solid little following, I didn’t have the views to justify that kind of fame. I thought there was no way some person could be in charge of scanning all the WordPress blogs trying to find cool stuff to feature, but it looks like there is. Her name is Joy Victory, and I firmly believe she has the greatest job in the world. I’m sure it would get tough at times. But, hey, Joy? If you ever need an apprentice, keep me in mind! Also, thank you for making my…well, I’m sure the high from being Freshly Pressed will last quite a while. ๐Ÿ™‚

After a little research, I found this postย by Joy Victory that’s very informative about exactly how WordPress makes their decisions on what goes in the Freshly Pressed spots.ย They basically say they look for unique posts with no naughty parts, visual aids, proper tagging, good grammar and punctuation (Woo hoo!), and a good headline.

All in all, if you’re reading this because you found me on Freshly Pressed, I’m so grateful you liked my posts enough to stay along for the ride! I promise to keep up the good posts as best I can, even when I get a little bogged down. If you were a previous reader, you know I love you and appreciate your support! I’m loving my brief blogging almost “celebrity” status — The only problem I foresee is how sad Freshly Pressed will make my stats look from now on. Stats are always fun to keep up on, but my approximate daily 200 views has been dwarfed by today, as you can see.

It's a simultaneous "Yay!" and "Mwa mwa mwaaaa."

Since UND is known for their aviation program, I’m pretty familiar with Leonardo da Vinci’s quote, “Once you have tasted flight, you will forever walk the earth with your eyes turned skyward, for there you have been, and there you will always long to return.” My spin on that is now, “Once you have been Freshly Pressed, you will forever blog with a witty tone and an interesting topic, for there you have been, and there you will always long to return.

34 thoughts on “My Fifteen Minutes of Freshly Pressed Fame

  1. Pingback: I was so Freshly Pressed! | Zak Suhar

  2. Go you! ๐Ÿ˜€ I am so far behind on emails. Finally clearing out my inbox today and catching up on that accumulated while my computer was down, only to find that I missed your moment in the spotlight. I must confess that I am patting my back a little in self-satisfaction…I knew how good you were before you made it “big”. LOL

    • Aww thanks! It was pretty crazy — I never would have expected that! I appreciate you following my posts from early on! It’s fun to make “blog friends.” ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Congrats!You obviously deserve your moment in the spotlight. Wallow in it. We little people need our moments of fame too.

    enjoy yours…and hang onto the wonderful memory…who knows, you could do it again…never say never. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. I’m very happy for you (even though I don’t know you)!!! But I’m pretty sure it was more than fifteen minutes… cos you’re still on freshly pressed ๐Ÿ˜›

  5. I like how you posted the views to your blog over the past couple of days, the 13th makes everything else seem tiny ๐Ÿ™‚ But really, over 4000 views in a day is extraordinary. I just signed up here and haven’t had time to actually start my blog yet, but I really enjoyed reading yours.

    I found your post about text messages fun to read also. Keep up the good work! I hope the traffic to your blog hasn’t dropped too much since the 13th ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I’m usually pretty secretive about my views, but my stats bar makes me laugh every time I see it, so I had to share it. The 13th made everything else look even more tiny by the end of the day yesterday! But my stats have surprisingly remained really steady today! It’s just crazy. I never thought I’d have thousands of views. I was just talking to a professor last week and we discussed how awesome it would be to get 500. I appreciate you and everyone who’s read my blog so far. You’ve all really made me feel like, even though I am just a girl from rural North Dakota, I can really accomplish things. Thanks so much!

  6. As a fellow freshly pressedite congrats and I had almost the exact same thought process/response all the way down to the “dangit now my stats are going to look lame for a looong time” thought…although my typical 20ish daily hits pales in comparison to your 200. Keep up the good work

  7. Your stats will likely stay high. I (and several others it seems) found you on FP, and stayed. Plus… the more people share you, the more… well, you get shared. ha ha. Congrats on the FP, I’ve been trying to get myself in the food version of it for a while now… one day my press will come. ๐Ÿ˜€

    • It will — When you least expect it! I’ve written many other posts that I thought were tons more interesting than this one, so it came as a total surprise! Good luck, and thanks for reading!

  8. 200 views a day!! Holy Hannah! Congrats on being Freshly Pressed (that’s how I found you!) but now your daily average has dwarfed my monthly! Ho hum..

    ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Hahaha! Congrats, and I tentatively draw from this blog post the conclusion that being on Freshly Pressed results in the same effects as having a super caffeine intake. Or alcohol. Anyway, cool (understatement) blog. You can thank WordPress for my visit. Also: blogroll’d. ๐Ÿ˜€

    • I look forward to that day too. I started a few weeks ago, and I was so ecstatic at having 69 views. Conrats again Kaitlin.

      • Thanks so much. I was getting less views than that just starting out, so you’re doing well! I really can’t believe all of this still — It’s crazy to me. Most of the time I write things with the mindset that no one will likely read it! (Especially the post that got me Freshly Pressed) So thank you very much for reading!

      • I am so happy for you!!!! I always wistfully look at the FP page, knowing that it is a dream. I am glad you are as excited as I would be. And looking at the stats is so fun too! ๐Ÿ™‚

        This is a wonderful post too. I am glad to have found you. Enjoy your moment as long as you want to! AmberLena

      • I’m glad you found me, too! Thanks so much for your thoughtful response and for sticking around! I’m loving this, but it’s a little nerve wracking! I hope my future posts can live up to the expectations they now have! Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

