Six Reasons Why the World Isn’t Going to End in 19 Days

2 Dec

Sure, there have been all kinds of natural disasters, not to mention strange weather patterns in general. (One mild winter in North Dakota last season was awesome, yet terrifying, because it’s so uncharacteristic. This one’s rounding out to be pretty similar.) And even though I might have been a little nervous about it myself when I first heard of the whole “2012” thing a few years ago, I’m now convinced that there’s no way we’ve only got 19 days left. Here are a few reasons why:

1. The Mayans made calendars, not predictions.

Why are we banking predictions of the future on a civilization that couldn’t predict its own demise? Yes, it’s still a mystery and archeologists aren’t sure what necessarily caused it, but it certainly happened quickly. You’d think a big disaster might have been something they could foretell. That is, if they ever claimed to be foretelling anything. Let’s give the Mayans some credit here. They were pretty advanced people. They probably realized that the notion of predicting the future was quackery, themselves.

I couldn't resist.

I couldn’t resist.

So, their calendar happens to end on December 21, 2012. Ours ends on December 31 every year. What if some futuristic space people come to Earth in a thousand years, find one of our old calendars, and assume we predicted the end of the world because of that? As for the 2012 thing, maybe they just got sick of making calendars at that point. Or maybe they were like, “Hey, it’s like, 900 A.D. I think 2012 is more than enough. Let’s take a break. We’ll make more calendars in like 1980.”

Oh, how I love this.

Oh, how I love this.

2. Some are catching on to the fact that Taylor Swift is not necessarily all that and a bag of gluten free popcorn chips. (Trust me, in spite of any “gluten free” connotations, those things are delicious.)

It’s no secret that I’m not necessarily a Swift fan. At first, I thought it was an irrational dislike, but honestly, I just don’t see why everyone flips out and thinks she’s the greatest ever. As far as singing and songwriting, she’s pretty average among her competition. A majority of her songs are pretty much about the same thing – heartbreak, relationships, boys suck, yada yada. They all sound pretty similar. And now she’s not even staying true to her country roots, getting all “popified” with her new album. (Does anyone else think the, “WeeeeEEEEE!” in “We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together” sounds like a pig call? You know, “Sooooo Weeeee!” Maybe it’s just me.)

She has summoned the pigs!

She has summoned the pigs! (Yay for cute baby animal pictures in this post!)

But I always said jokingly, “If the world ends in 2012, it’ll be because Taylor Swift is some kind of spy and brainwashed the nation into trusting her and thinking she’s perfect.” I guess I just don’t fully buy her squeaky clean image. And my less-than-impressed opinion of her has gotten me yelled at multiple times. Each time, the yellers to try to convince me to love her. Why? If someone isn’t particularly a fan of any other music artist, people generally shrug it off thinking, “Eh, to each his own.”  What makes her so different? So, that’s what’s bothered me about her.

I'm just sayin'...

I’m just sayin’…

And that opinion is starting to grow, much to my surprise. So, there goes that theory. One more point for the world continuing to exist.

Yay!

Yay!

3. Hello, does anyone remember the whole “Rapture” thing?

Yeah, that didn’t happen. Although, it did make for an awesome excuse to have Rapture Parties and to sit around watching horror movies and drinking. December 21 will be an excuse to bring on the even more awesome End of the World Parties!

Plus, it was a great excuse for Shock Top to make this beer that I couldn't resist getting last night. It's pretty good, but I honestly think I really like it because of its clever name.

Plus, it was a great excuse for Shock Top to make this beer that I couldn’t resist getting last night. It’s pretty good, but I honestly think I really like it because of its clever name.

4. We’ve only gotten through the mid-season finale of the Walking Dead. Every episode’s enough of a cliffhanger as it is. There’s no way we can hold out that long.

Well, we actually haven’t even made it that far yet, but in approximately six hours we will. I’m going to have a hard enough time waiting until whenever it starts up again; I really don’t need an apocalypse screwing it up. However, if zombies were to be involved, at least I would have learned some great survival techniques.

Lori made the zombie apocalypse so much worse than it had to be.

Lori made the zombie apocalypse so much worse than it had to be.

5. I finally bought an iPhone. I better get more than 2 weeks to use it.
My Android phone spazzed out on me late last spring, so I got frustrated, went off the deep end, and downgraded to a dumbphone. It was nice to get away from paying for a data plan for a while, but this phone is even crappier than the phone I had in high school. I can only take teeny baby pictures on my teeny baby screen. I can’t take videos. It doesn’t like to send texts all the time, and it definitely doesn’t like to let me know when I’ve received one. So, a shiny, white iPhone 5 has become my Christmas present from me to me. It’s currently hurtling toward me and should be here by Wednesday, leaving me about 16 days with an iPhone if those who believe the end is near are right after all.

Hawt.

Hawt. My dumbphone.

6. This morning, I drank coffee with creamer that expired in September. If I made it through that, I can make it through anything.
I know this doesn’t help the rest of the world have any hope, but I’m feeling particularly resilient for living through that. I made it through half the cup of coffee before I decided that something was really wrong, and those chunks floating in it probably weren’t just undissolved sweetener. So, if living through drinking curdled coffee creamer adds any credibility to my End of the World Survival resume, let’s slap it on there.

Me, reading the expiration date.

Me, reading the expiration date.

But in all seriousness, I am kind of interested in these apocalypse theories, no matter how whacked out they might seem, and I like the idea that this whole December 21 thing isn’t an apocalypse, but an ending of one cycle and the beginning of a new one, as cheesy as it sounds.

But, hey, if you’ve been stockpiling food and alcohol for bartering, like a lot of the Doomsday Preppers I’ve seen on TV, that won’t mean it was all for nothing. It’ll just make your End of the World Party that much more awesome!

2012_end_of_the_world_party_invitation-p161584299638290495en75o_325

193 Responses to “Six Reasons Why the World Isn’t Going to End in 19 Days”

  1. My Heathen Heart December 21, 2012 at 5:34 am #

    And here we are, almost into the 22nd of December and hey!, what do you know – we’re all still here! (I wonder how many drama-junkies are actually disappointed about that?). Great post!

  2. trevorcillian December 20, 2012 at 9:59 pm #

    Reblogged this on nojatuolifilosofikirot and commented:
    19 päivää tästä blogiartikkelin julkaisusta kulunut ja täällä vielä ollaan.

  3. jennyyu822 December 20, 2012 at 8:02 pm #

    Reblogged this on jennyxiaoyu and commented:
    I like this: May be you are the problem. haha

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly Xmas Tv Links « The Harlequin Tea Set - December 23, 2012

    [...] why didn’t the world end last Friday? Here’s the reasons [...]

  2. It’s the Tsunami Factor | The Wanderlust Gene - December 9, 2012

    [...] seems – from a poll of over 500 respondents to A Nice Ring to It’s Freshly Pressed article “Six Reasons Why the World Isn’t Going to End in 19 Days” – that almost  95% of us would laugh or cringe at the latest apocalyptic prediction, though a [...]

  3. Six Reasons Why the World Isn’t Going to End in 19 Days | Literature, Mathematics, Science, Etc. - December 9, 2012

    [...] Six Reasons Why the World Isn’t Going to End in 19 Days. [...]

  4. Now We’re Brother Significant Others! « A Nice Ring to It - December 8, 2012

    [...] have a pretty cool brother. He’s nearly 18 (ironically enough, his birthday is December 21) and a senior in high school. But according to my dad, he looks older than me. I beg to differ, but [...]

  5. 7 Reasons Why I’m Cool With the World Ending « 98.6 degrees of english major - December 7, 2012

    [...] by this post, a list of reasons why the world could end and I’d be totally cool with [...]

  6. Weekend Links- 12.7.12 | Tara Pook - December 7, 2012

    [...] Ring lists six reasons why the world isn’t going to end on December [...]

  7. Advent calendar of Doom: countdown to oblivion (again) « Pop! Culture & Politics - December 7, 2012

    [...] http://kaitlinring.wordpress.com/2012/12/02/six-reasons-why-the-world-isnt-going-to-end-in-19-days/ [...]

  8. So Close to the End | rfljenksy – Practicing Simplicity - December 5, 2012

    [...] Six Reasons Why the World Isn’t Going to End in 19 Days (kaitlinring.wordpress.com) [...]

  9. A brief-ish History on the end of the World.. | Notes of nearly everything - December 3, 2012

    [...] Six Reasons Why the World Isn’t Going to End in 19 Days (kaitlinring.wordpress.com) [...]

Leave a Reply

BTS Communications

A Non-Profit Advertising Agency

Brandi Miller Art

Graphic Design, Photography, Fine Art

republicoflyniezia

A small island in a crazy world...

vyvacious

Obsessed with food, dancing, and Batman

Heikoworld© and Lisa`s-Photography©

Images For All-From People Who Care

Valentina Expressions

Author and Designer - Culture, Travel, Designs, Food

Psychobabble

This Licensed Professional Counselor is building a family

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 550 other followers

